Back to Centre Star

See also past NSCs

2010 National SCRABBLE(R) Championship

[photo of auditorium]

About the Event

The finals of the 2010 National Championship will be held on Sunday, October 31st at The Cavendish Conference Centre, 22 Duchess Mews, London W1G 9DT.

Players competed in seven regional events throughout the country to qualify for a semi-final event, which was held in Leeds on 11-12 September. Mark Nyman, 44 from Knutsford, Cheshire and Mikki Nicholson, 32 from Carlisle emerged as the top two players at that event, and they go forward to play for the title of National Scrabble Champion 2010. Mark will be attempting to win for a record fifth time.

We would love you to attend the Final and view our Theatre presentation of the games. Doors open at 10:00 A.M. and entry is free. The players play in a separate room, with their moves being placed on a large board in the Theatre as they are played. There will be an expert on hand to explain and comment on the moves to the audience as they occur. Audience members are free to make their own comments and ask any questions they like, as the action unfolds. Refreshments are available for purchase throughout the event.

If you are unable to attend the event you may still view it live, online, each of the Final games will be posted to this web site in interactive form, move by move.

To find out more about competitive Scrabble in the U.K., please visit the ABSP website.

If you have any further queries about the event please contact the Organiser, Philip Nelkon on 01628 500283, Press should contact the Press Officer on 01628 500008.

Tournament Results

[photo of Mikki Nicholson]
Mikki Nicholson
[photo of Mark Nyman]
Mark Nyman

Click to view... (links become active when each game begins)




10:30 A.M. Game 1 – NSC 10:00 A.M.
  • Club and ABSP membership information
  • Scrabble equipment for anyone to use during the breaks
  • All day refreshments
11:30 A.M. Game 2 – NSC
12:30 P.M. Lunch Break
1:30 P.M. Game 3 – NSC
2:30 P.M. Game 4* – NSC
3:30 P.M. Game 5* – NSC
4:30 P.M. Prize presentation*

* NSC Games 4 and 5 will be played only if necessary: the final is the best of five games. The presentation will take place once the tournament has been completed.

Past Champions

YearChampion YearChampion YearChampion
1971Stephen Haskell 1984Mike Willis 1997Andrew Cook
1972Olive Behan 1985Esther Byers 1998Mark Nyman
1973Anne Bradford 1986Viraf Mehta 1999Evan Simpson
1974Richard Sharp 1987Nigel Ingham 2000Brett Smitheram
1975Olive Behan (2nd title) 1988Margaret Rogers 2001Mark Nyman (2nd title)
1976Alan Richter 1989Russell Byers (2nd title) 2002Mark Nyman (3rd title)
1977Mike Goldman 1990Philip Nelkon (3rd title) 2003Harshan Lamabadusuriya
1978Philip Nelkon 1991Phil Appleby 2004Mark Nyman (4th title)
1979Christine Jones 1992Philip Nelkon (4th title) 2005Wale Fashina
1980Joyce Cansfield 1993Allan Saldanha 2006Jake Jacobs
1981Philip Nelkon (2nd title) 1994Mike Willis (2nd title) 2007Paul Allan
1982Russell Byers 1995(not contested) 2008Allan Simmons
1983Colin Gumbrel 1996Andrew Fisher 2009Craig Beevers