Back to Centre Star

See also past NSCs

2008 National SCRABBLE(R) Championship

[photo of auditorium]

About the Event

The finals of the 2008 National Championship will be held on Sunday, October 5th at The Cavendish Conference Centre, 22 Duchess Mews, London W1G 9DT.

Players competed in six regional events throughout the country to qualify for a semi-final event, which was held in Birmingham on 13–14 September. Allan Simmons, 51 from Coldingham, Berwickshire and Craig Beevers, 27 from Stockton-on-Tees emerged as the top two players at that event, both winning 11 out of 14 games. They go forward to play for the title of National Scrabble Champion 2008.

We would love you to attend the Final and view our Theatre presentation of the games. Doors open at 10:00 A.M. and entry is free. The players play in a separate room, with their moves being placed on a large board in the Theatre as they are played. The event will be emceed by the man who makes every word count — Paul Chadwick — and top player and former National Champion — Brett Smitheram — will explain and comment on the moves to the audience as they occur. Audience members are free to make their own comments and ask any questions they like, as the action unfolds. Refreshments are available for purchase throughout the event.

Congratulations to 2008 National Champion Allan Simmons, who defeated Craig Beevers three games to one: 433-389, 298-472, 449-333 and 439-409.

If you are unable to attend the event you may still view it live, online, each of the Final games will be posted to this web site in interactive form, move by move.

To find out more about competitive Scrabble in the U.K., please visit the ABSP web site.

If you have any further queries about the event please contact the Organiser, Philip Nelkon on 01628 500283, Press should contact the Press Officer on 01628 500008.

Tournament Results

[photo of Craig Beevers]
Craig Beevers
[photo of Allan Simmons]
Allan Simmons

Click to view... (links become active when each game begins)




10:30 A.M. Game 1 – NSC 10:00 A.M.
  • Club and ABSP membership information
  • Scrabble equipment for anyone to use during the breaks
  • All day refreshments
11:30 A.M. Game 2 – NSC
12:30 P.M. Lunch Break
1:30 P.M. Game 3 – NSC
2:30 P.M. Game 4* – NSC
3:30 P.M. Game 5* – NSC
4:30 P.M. Prize presentation*

* NSC Games 4 and 5 will be played only if necessary: the final is the best of five games. The presentation will take place once the tournament has been completed.


Stage PresentationPaul Chadwick (MC), Brett Smitheram (Commentator)
Large BoardAllie Nelkon, Becki Ritson
Tournament Director & Internet RelayStewart Holden
Game AnnotatorsMauro Pratesi, Wayne Kelly, Mike Chappell
WebmasterJohn Chew
ReceptionJulie Nelkon
Tournament OrganiserPhilip Nelkon
Press Officer (Mattel)Charlotte Bird & Jacey Bunker

Past Champions

YearChampion YearChampion
1971Stephen Haskell 1990Philip Nelkon (3rd title)
1972Olive Behan 1991Phil Appleby
1973Anne Bradford 1992Philip Nelkon (4th title)
1974Richard Sharp 1993Allan Saldanha
1975Olive Behan (2nd title) 1994Mike Willis (2nd title)
1976Alan Richter 1995(not contested)
1977Mike Goldman 1996Andrew Fisher
1978Philip Nelkon 1997Andrew Cook
1979Christine Jones 1998Mark Nyman
1980Joyce Cansfield 1999Evan Simpson
1981Philip Nelkon (2nd title) 2000Brett Smitheram
1982Russell Byers 2001Mark Nyman (2nd title)
1983Colin Gumbrel 2002Mark Nyman (3rd title)
1984Mike Willis 2003Harshan Lamabadusuriya
1985Esther Byers 2004Mark Nyman (4th title)
1986Viraf Mehta 2005Wale Fashina
1987Nigel Ingham 2006Jake Jacobs
1988Margaret Rogers 2007Paul Allan
1989Russell Byers (2nd title)